Getting Your Junior Operator License

junior operator license, TJ Woods Insurance Agency, Worcester, MAGetting your car is one of those milestone experiences in life. And for some this landmark event into adulthood can’t come soon enough. If you’re one of the young adults interested in getting your Junior Operator License, there are several things you need to know about Massachusetts’ provisional license, the requirements to get it, and the restriction that set it apart from a normal driver’s license.

State Requirements: Massachusetts

Most states carry some sort of provisional license, in Massachusetts it’s known as a Junior Operator License or JOL. Applicants must pass a behind-the-wheel road test and complete a State of Massachusetts approved driver education program. There are age requirements and hour requirements of the program and driving for getting the JOL.


Applicants must be at least 16 ½ years of age. This extra 6 month delay is to allow a 16-year-old to gain their Learner’s Permit, which you need at least 6 months prior to obtaining your JOL. Applicants that are over the age of 18 apply for Driver’s Licenses as usual.


The requirement of hours breaks down into two categories: education and road driving.

Education requires an approved driver education and training program that provides the following:

  • 12 hours on the road training behind the wheel
  • 6 hours in the car observing other student drivers
  • 2 hour of a parent or legal guardian attending the program

Road driving requires an additional 40 hours of supervised driving on the road. It can be reduced to 30 hours if the driver has completed a driver skills development program.


junior operator license, TJ Woods Insurance Agency, Worcester, MA

After successfully completing your behind the wheel test, you’ll have your Junior Operator License. However, there are several restrictions on your license, including who and when you can drive, as well as stiffer penalties behind the wheel.

Passenger Age

For the first 6th months you cannot drive with passengers under the age of 18 unless they are immediate family, or you have a licensed driver that is at least 21 years of age accompanying you.


You cannot drive between the hours of 12:30 AM and 5:00 PM unless you are accompanied with a parent or legal guardian.


Certain violations have much severer penalties than for people over the age of 18, including speeding and drag racing. In addition, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days.

Auto Insurance

Of course there’s one thing you need before you get behind the wheel of any car: auto insurance. Make sure to talk with your parents about your car’s insurance, either by getting yourself added to their policy, or to get a separate policy for yourself. Here at TJ Woods Insurance Agency we understand the drive to be a driver. Contact us about adjusting current policies, or getting a new policy that’s right for you.